May 6, 2019

dcad celebrates class of 2019 during 21st graduation ceremony

The 30-member Class of 2019 were awarded associate of fine arts degrees in animation, fine arts, graphic design, illustration, interior design and photography when Delaware College of Art and Design held its 21st Commencement on May 6. Graduates, dignitaries and guests were addressed by New Castle County Executive Matthew Meyer, who delivered opening remarks; graduating student Mikeria “Mickey” Flack, who gave the valedictory speech; and artist and writer Catherine Quillman, who presented the keynote address. Also speaking were President Jean Dahlgren and Board of Trustees chair Thomas Shopa.

Receiving 2019 DCAD Department Awards for achieving the highest grade-point average in their major were Flack (illustration); Matthew Terry (animation); Leanna Bacani (fine arts); Nicole Avallone (graphic design); Shelby Robbins (interior design); and Midori Morrow (photography). Fine arts major Ayla Knight received the 2019 Anne N. Edwards Benevolent Student Award for exhibiting kindness, caring and compassion that has notably benefited DCAD students, faculty and staff alike, and fine arts major Lia Proud received the 2019 NextFab Award, for demonstrating growth, innovation and experimentation in sculptural forms. Each of the eight awards also included a monetary gift made possible by donors.

Commencement began at 2 p.m. with a procession from DCAD’s academic and administration building along Market Street to The Grand Opera House. (View a WPVI 6 ABC “Action News” clip here and a clip here.) It concluded with a recessional march back to DCAD, where graduates and their guests enjoyed a private reception and viewing of the capstone works making up the 2019 Graduating Student Exhibition.

The full list of graduates is as follows:

Sara Cristyn Brush
Eli Michael Copperman (Honors)
Caitlin Douglas (Honors)
Angel René Hall
Kayla E. Herrin (Honors)
Claire C. Rushton
Matthew James Terry (Honors)
Jaymen Christopher Tucker-Price

Fine Arts
Leanna R. Bacani (Honors)
Parker T. Herron
Ayla Janae Crystal Knight
Lia K. Proud
Racheal N. Thomas
Rose M Thompson

Graphic Design
Nicole Marie Avallone (Honors)
Alana S. Grant
Alexis Nicole Peabody (Honors)

Alyson Detterline
Emily Rose Fabiano
Mikeria D. Flack (Honors)
Tatiana A. Gault
Arianna Pandora Stearns

Interior Design
Anna Bernell Chaffee (Honors)
Cassie L. Larson (Honors)
Shelby Elizabeth Robbins (Honors)

Emily Nicole Ernst
Sarah Elizabeth Graff
Caleb G. Lilje
Midori Elizabeth Morrow (Honors)